Thursday 12 December, 2019

2017 Champions of Business awardees, finalists announced

The Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Industry and Commerce has named the awardees and finalists for the 2017 edition of Champions of Business.

The T&T Chamber’s award ceremony and gala cocktail reception will take place November 11 at the National Academy for the Performing Arts.

Champions of Business is a signature annual event which highlights the sterling contributions of some of T&T’s finest business minds, while recognising their outstanding performance and excellence within the business sector. 

Established business leaders, emerging entrepreneurs and high-performing companies are nominated by their peers and members of the public, and winners are subsequently decided upon in the respective categories.

This year, a category of award for Startups was introduced for the first time.

The T&T Chamber says this year First Citizens continues its long-standing partnership with the Chamber as the exclusive category sponsor for the Internationally Known…T&T Owned Company of the Year while, EY is the exclusive sponsor of Emerging Entrepreneur of the Year, and the Startup award.

Other strategic partners for 2017 include bpTT, Bmobile, Sagicor, Atlantic, Agostini Limited, Southern Sales and Service and CL Communications. 

Champions of Business will culminate with the induction of two exceptional individuals into the T&T Chamber’s Business Hall of Fame. 

The following are the 2017 Champions of Business awardees, winners and finalists:

Business Hall of Fame - Inductees

  • Dr. Rupert Indar, Southern Medical Clinic

 • Mr. Lall Paladee (posthumous) – Pennywise Cosmetics Limited


Internationally Known… T&T Owned Company of the Year Award, sponsored by First Citizens - Winner 

 • Bermudez Biscuit Company Limited


Start-up Award, sponsored by EY: Finalists

(Winner to be announced on November 11):

 • Dominique Lewis - Amare Probiotics Limited

• Nigel Jordan and Cheryl Baptiste - Twigs Natural Limited

• Shoma Persad and Tobye Gill - Tobye and Shoma

 • Stefanie Thavenot and Alix Fitzwilliam - Sweet Beet Juice Company


Emerging Entrepreneur of the Year, sponsored by EY: Finalists

 (Winner to be announced on November 11): 

 • Jules Sobion - Caesar’s Army Limited

 • Ryan Perkins - Building Spaces Limited

 • Melissa Moseley and Marklan Moseley - Sweet Nothings Edible Arrangements    


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: