• Trinidad & Tobago
  • Trinidad & Tobago

    Election 2020 Results

Tuesday 11 August, 2020

24-hr disaster hotlines activated

Citizens are being encouraged to make use of the 14 Disaster Management hotlines available through the various regional corporations to remain updated on weather conditions and any reported cases of flooding or natural disasters.

Rural Development and Local Government Minister Kazim Hosein said all 14 24-hour hotlines have been activated and all Disaster Management Units across the country are on standby as first responders to any potential disaster situation, and will play a pivotal role in ensuring public safety and bringing relief to any affected areas.

He also urged citizens to be cautious on the nation’s roadways given continuous heavy rainfall which has been reported throughout the country.

Earlier today, Minister Hosein met with officials from the Engineering Department and key personnel at his Ministry and the Ministry of Works and Transport as they embark on a coordinated approach to efficiently address the landslip that took place on the North Coast Road near the Maracas Lookout. Equipment and technical staff from both Ministries are being engaged to ensure that this matter is resolved in a timely manner.

Senior Disaster Management Coordinator at the Ministry, Rishi Siew gave the assurance that the Ministry remains committed to working with all state agencies, Ministries and the 14 Corporations to ensure that all precautions are taken to prevent any major disruptions.

Citizens are again reminded to make use of the Toll-Free Disaster Management Hotlines which have been activated and will be functioning on a 24-hour basis as first responders in the case of flooding, landslips, fallen trees, and other emergency situations which requires disaster relief.


The hotline numbers are as follows:




Diego Martin Regional Corporation

800-DMRC (3672)

San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation

800-SLRC (7572)

Arima Borough Corporation

800-2ABC (2222)

Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation

800-TPRC (8272)

Port-of-Spain City Corporation

800-PSCC (7722)

Sangre Grande Regional Corporation

800-SGRC (7472)

Chaguanas Borough Corporation

800-DCBC (3222)

Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation

800-CTTC (2882)

Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation

800-4MRC (4672)

Princes Town Regional Corporation

800-PTRC (7872)

Point Fortin Borough Corporation

800-PFBC (7322)

San Fernando City Corporation

800-SCDU (7238)

Penal/Debe Regional Corporation

800-PDRC (7372)

Siparia Regional Corporation

800-4SRC (4772)





Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: