Sunday 25 October, 2020

Barbados waives visa requirements for 22 countries, 10 in Africa

The Mia Mottley-led government of Barbados has abolished visa requirements for passport holders of several countries, including Africa, Asia, Europe and the Gulf States Region.

The countries benefiting from this immediate Visa Waiver Agreement are listed below.

In Africa, they are: Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Liberia, Morocco, Nigeria, Rwanda and Senegal.

Related Article

Those from the Gulf States Region are: Bahrain, Jordan, Oman, Qatar and Saudi Arabia

The countries in Asia are: India, Indonesia, Special Administrative Region of Macao (People’s Republic of China), Thailand, The Philippines and Vietnam. The lone country from Central America is Guatemala.

In Europe, the countries are: Russian Federation, Serbia and The Principality of Monaco.

During a post-Cabinet media briefing on Thursday, May 16, 2019, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Senator Dr. Jerome Walcott, indicated that Barbados was seeking to strengthen relations with countries within the global sphere; make new friends and attract more opportunities to the island, particularly in the areas of tourism, business and foreign investment.

“We recognize in terms of travel that the stipulations for visas are sometimes a deterrent for tourists and those seeking to establish business with the country; they find it fairly complicated.  

In this regard, the Cabinet of Barbados agreed to remove the visa requirements for several countries in different parts of the world,” Minister Walcott said. 

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: