• Trinidad & Tobago
  • Trinidad & Tobago

    Election 2020 Results

Saturday 15 August, 2020

Big win for Gaston Browne's party in Antigua and Barbuda elections

Gaston Browne's Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party (ABLP) has retained power on the twin-island following elections on Thursday, 

The party won resoundingly at the polls, picking up one extra seat more than it held before. 

The ABLP won 15 seats with one each going to the United Progressive Party (UPP) and the Barbuda People's Movement (BPM). 

Harold Lovell, leader of the UPP lost his seat as he led his party in an election for the first time. 

History was also made in Barbuda where Trevor Walker of the Barbuda People's Movement (BPM) easily defeated the incumbent Arthur Nibbs of the ABLP by 568 to 429 votes.

“This is a historic time for the people of Barbuda,” Walker told reporters. He said this is the first time that a candidate has won the seat by more than 100 seats.


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: