Thursday 29 October, 2020

Chutney Soca Monarch finals for Guaracara Park, 15 to be honoured

CSM Founder George Singh with past winners of CSM and other supporters

CSM Founder George Singh with past winners of CSM and other supporters

The 2020 Chutney Soca Monarch finals will be held at Guaracara Park in Pointe-a-Pierre.

CSM founder George Singh said with the renovations at Skinner's Park rendering that venue unusable, the next best bet was Guaracara.

He said Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba was considered but it is booked for many events and they won’t have the time to set up the venue as they require.

The Calypso Fiesta will also be held at Guaracara Park, Singh revealed.

Speaking at the launch of the CSM this morning at Paprika Bistro in Gulf City Mall, Singh said the finals will be a spectacular affair as the event celebrates its 25th anniversary. The opening will touch on elements of the competition’s 25-year journey and will feature a few of the past Monarchs, among them past CSM winner Ravi B, who said he is excited about the planned production.

Singh revealed that the finals will be carried live on CNC3 and via YouTube Live for fans around the world.

Live viewing parties are also being planned for Toronto, New York, Miami and Orlando and will be shared via local television.

Another main feature of the finals will be the honouring of 15 people who have contributed to the growth of CSM over the last 25 years.

The awardees are: Drupatee Ramgoonai, Mungal Patasar, Teddy Bissembhar, Rikki Jai, Shamoon Mohammed, Purushotham Singh, Virendra Persad, Rishi Mahatoo, Big Rich, the National Lotteries Control Board and the Ministry of Community Development, Culture and the Arts. Moonesar Chankar, Ajeet Praimsingh, Fareed Mohammed and Mohan Jaikaran will be awarded posthumously.

The finals and semi-finals of CSM will be free to the public, which has been done for the last four years Singh said.

The finals will be held on February 8 with the semis taking place at Space Night Club in Gulf View La Romaine on January 18.

The 35 semi-finalists will be announced next week Wednesday.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: