Wednesday 1 April, 2020

Committee considers applicants for Presidential Pardons

National Security Minister Stuart Young chaired a meeting on Wednesday to consider applications submitted by prisoners and non-prisoners who have been convicted of an offence and wish to obtain a Presidental Pardon.

The Advisory Committee on the Power of Pardon (Mercy Committee), established under Section 87 of the Constitution, gives consideration to each individual application on a case by case basis with a view to determining whether the applicant is a suitable candidate for the grant of a Presidential Pardon.

The Committee is chaired by the Minister of National Security and its membership includes the Attorney General, the Director of Public Prosecutions and four other members of varied expertise.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: