Tuesday 25 June, 2019

Disaster Management Units activated, hospitals on alert after 'quake

The Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government said all Disaster Management Units have beee activated, after a 6.9 earthquake rattled Trinidad and Tobago around 5:30 pm on Tuesday evening.

Citizens reported structural damage to homes, supermarkets, and cinemas, broken glass and even cracks in the floor at a restaurant in Chaguaramas. 


The Ministry said it has activated all 14 Disaster Management Units although thankfully, there have been no reports of loss of life up to 9:00 pm Tuesday.

"Presently, reports of structural damage to homes, business places and places of worship as well as power outages have been coming in from the following areas; San Fernando, Princes Town, Port of Spain, Chaguanas, Diego Martin, Sangre Grande and Arima."

Minister Haji Kazim Hosein encourages all citizens to utilize the 24hr DMU Hotlines saying, “If your home or business place has been damaged due to the earthquake or you have any information on fallen trees or power outages in your city, borough or region feel free to contact your respective Disaster Management Units. They have been activated to assist in any way that they can.”

"In the event of damage to homes, members of the public are kindly advised to contact their respective DMUs as Emergency Shelters have been placed on standby to accommodate such persons."

The Ministry said it remains committed to working with all agencies to ensure that citizens receive the assistance needed during this time.

Deyalsingh: Hospitals on alert

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said all public health facilities are operational and on the alert should there be any emergencies. 

In a statement issued Tuesday evening, Deyalsingh urged citizens to only contact the hotlines in cases of serious medical emergencies.

"At 6:30 I would like to report that all our health facilities are intact. Our disaster preparedness plan is in full operation. We are asking the public to cooperate with us by going to your nearest health facility for emergencies only. Our emergency plans are place," he said.

Here is a list of contacts for the Municipal Corporations as well as emergency contacts:



Diego Martin Regional Corporation: 800-DMRC (3672)

San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation: 800-SLRC (7572)

Arima Borough Corporation: 800-2ABC (2222)

Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation: 800-TPRC (8272)

Port-of-Spain City Corporation: 800-PSCC (7722)

Sangre Grande Regional Corporation: 800-SGRC (7472)

Chaguanas Borough Corporation: 800-DCBC (3222)

Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation: 800-CTTC (2882)

Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation: 800-4MRC (4672)

Princes Town Regional Corporation: 800-PTRC (7872)

Point Fortin Borough Corporation: 800-PFBC (7322)

San Fernando City Corporation: 800-SCDU (7238)

Penal/Debe Regional Corporation: 800-PDRC (7372)

Siparia Regional Corporation: 800-4SRC (4772)

ODPM: 511

TEMA (Tobago Emergency Management Agency): 211

Coast Guard: 634-4440

Fire: 990

Ambulance: 811

Police: 999, 555

Ambulance: 811


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free:

Download the Loop News Caribbean app on Google Play Store: http://bit.ly/GetALoop

Download the Loop News Caribbean app on the App Store:  http://bit.ly/GetiLoop

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: