Saturday 24 October, 2020

ECCB member states get funding to fight coronavirus

The Monetary Council of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank has approved a grant valued at EC$4 million to help member states in their fight against the coronavirus.

Each of the member states will receive EC$500 000.

The ECCB has mandated that the rest of the money be used to procure equipment and supplies such as ventilators and drugs, through the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States Pharmaceutical Procurement Service (OECS PPS).

Speaking in his capacity as Chairman of the ECCB Monetary Council, Grenada’s Prime Minister Dr Keith Mitchell said “we are facing an unprecedented situation with the COVID-19 pandemic. Our countries are very appreciative of this thoughtful and practical gesture by the bank.”

The ECCB member states are:

  • Anguilla
  • Montserrat
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines



Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: