Wednesday 2 December, 2020

Election 2020: 58.04% voter turnout; EBC releases preliminary results

The Elections and Boundaries Commission has released the preliminary results for the 2020 Parliamentary Elections.

In a release, the EBC noted that of the 1,134,135 electors eligible to vote in this year’s election, 658,297 votes were polled.

This represents a voter turnout of 58.04 per cent.

The EBC also noted that there were official requests for recounts by the People’s Democratic Patriots and the United National Congress.

The electoral districts where recounts were requested are:

  • St. Joseph
  • Tunapuna
  • La Horquetta/Talparo
  • Toco/Sangre Grande
  • San Fernando West
  • Tobago East

The EBC said that during the recount in the electoral district of Tobago East, the candidate for the People’s Democratic Patriots, Watson Duke conceded, ending that recount.

Five recounts are still ongoing.

Click here to view the Preliminary Results for the 2020 Parliamentary Election or you can click here for our updated interactive election map.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: