Monday 30 November, 2020

Election 2020: All ballot recounts completed

Ballots have been recounted for the constituency of St Joseph, the last of the recounts requested following the preliminary result of the 2020 general election.  

Poll cards are still to be counted for the constituency, but the recount and examination of ballots saw the People’s National Movement (PNM) retain the seat with a margin of 811 votes.

A preliminary tally puts the PNM in front with 9,354 votes to the United National Congress (UNC) 8,543 votes.

Recounts began last Tuesday.

The result of recounts in the other seats is as follows:

San Fernando West

PNM: 8,449

UNC: 6,754

Margin of victory: 1,695


PNM: 9,460

UNC: 7,533

Margin of victory: 1,927

La Horquetta/Talparo

PNM: 9,391

UNC: 7,297

Margin of victory: 2,094

Toco/Sangre Grande

PNM: 10,694

UNC: 7,303

Margin of victory: 3,391

Following the total completion of recounts, the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) will release the official count and will formally notify the President of the declared winner of the election.

The President will then will issue correspondence to begin giving effect to sections 76(1) (a) and 83 (2) of the Constitution which speak to the appointment of a Prime Minister and Opposition Leader and give way to the swearing in of a new Government.

PNM PRO Laurel Lezama Lee-Sing said while the party is awaiting the release of the final result from the EBC she expects a PNM victory at the completion of the process.

Preliminary results indicate the PNM claimed victory at the 2020 polls with 22 seats to the UNC’s 19, along with the popular vote.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: