Sunday 24 May, 2020

Four laureates named for 2017 Anthony N Sabga Caribbean Awards

Four laureates for the Anthony N Sabga Caribbean Awards were named on Thursday night.

The awardees were named in the fields of Arts & Letters, Entrepreneurship and Public and Civic Contributions. 

No laureate in Science & Technology was named for 2017.

The laureates are:

  • Arts & Letters:    Winslow Craig, Sculptor, Guyana  and  Kwame Ryan, Conductor, Trinidad & Tobago  
  • Entrepreneurship:  Shadel Nyack Compton, Agro-Tourism Entrepreneur, Grenada  
  • Public & Civic  Contributions:  Dr Christopher Arif Bulkan (Attorney), Guyana

The Laureates were proposed by country nominating committees (CNCs), and selected by a regional panel of eminent persons (EPP).

The Anthony N Sabga Caribbean Awards is the only programme in the Caribbean which seeks out and rewards outstanding nominees in Arts & Letters, Public & Civic Contributions, Science & Technology and Entrepreneurship. It has been in existence since 2005.

The prizes are worth TT $500,000 each, and each laureate receives a medal and citation at the awards ceremony, which will be held  in Guyana next  May.

For further information, visit us at, or find us on Facebook. An introductory video is available on our YouTube Channel (ANSCAFE).

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: