Friday 10 July, 2020

Gov't-appointed committee to select preferred refinery operator

A ten-member Government-appointed Committee will evaluate bids for the sale or lease of the Guaracara refinery at Pointe a Pierre.

Permanent Secretary in the Finance Ministry Vishnu Dhanpaul will chair the Guaracara Evaluation Committee. He is tasked with evaluating all bidders participating in the Guaracara RFP (including bidders in Stage 1 and Stage 2) after which he will make a recommendation to the Cabinet on the preferred bidder.

The Board of Directors will not be required to conduct the evaluation and selection as the Committee will assume full responsibility for overseeing the process.

As a result, Government has indemnified the Board of Directors of Trinidad Petroleum Holdings Limited (TPHL) from any liability that may stem from the decisions or actions of the Evaluation Committee.

The Guaracara Evaluation Committee includes Vishnu Dhanpaul, Chairman; Anthony Chan Tack; Claire Gomez-Miller; Joseph Remy; Ian Welsh; Selwyn Lashley; Dale McLeod; Sandra Fraser; Sahid Hosein; and Terrance Bharath.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: