Friday 30 October, 2020

Kenny Phillips among 16 in Young Kings finals

Veteran calypso producer Kenny Phillips is in the Young Kings competition.

Phillips, who is making his debut this year as a calypsonian, is listed among the 16 finalists announced by the National Action Cultural Committee today.

Phillips is the owner of WACK radio station in San Fernando and his song, Wack Dem Kenny, is a play on that.  The song was written by Kurt Allen.

Phillips, who has been tracking his journey as a calypsonian through a Vlog, will compete against a younger generation of artistes such as Swappi, Preedy, College Boy Jessie, Aaron Duncan and Rondell Donawa.

Below is the list of 16 finalists.

Aaron Duncan – Caught Up

Banjela (Addelon Braveboy) – T’is We Season

Caston Cupid – Split

College Boy Jesse (Jesse Stewart) – Happy Song

Frosty Brooks (Andrew Brooks) – Pray then Work

KC (Kyle Cowie) – In 2020 – How Could That Be

Kenny Phillips – Wack Dem Kenny

Lani K (Jalani Kojo) – Choices

M’ba (Gary Thomasos) – Reverse

Preedy (Akeem Chance) – Fete In Peace

Rivaldo London – Merchants of Division

Rondell Donawa – We So Cold

Sekon Alves – De New Handbook

Sheldon Nugget (Sheldon Bullen) – Black and Proud

Swappi (Marvin Davis)– Jumbie Head

Wendell Goodridge – Massa’s Position

The Finals of the Young Kings Calypso Monarch Competition takes place on Tuesday, February,11 at the Grand Stand, Queen’s Park Savannah from 7 p.m.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: