Wednesday 2 December, 2020

Massive in Chutney Soca Monarch semis

George Singh, CEO of Southex Promotions with 2017 CSM winners Omardath Maharaj and Ravi B

George Singh, CEO of Southex Promotions with 2017 CSM winners Omardath Maharaj and Ravi B

Nermal "Massive" Gosein has made it to the semifinals of the Chutney Soca Monarch. 

Gosein's name was among the 34 semifinalists announced on Monday at a media launch for CSM. One hundred people registered for the competition.

The singer, whose controversial "Rowlee Mother Count" has elicited criticism from People's National Movement supporters and others, will vie for one of only eight spots in the finals.

Among those who will also be in the semis is newcomer Rome, former Chutney  Soca Monarch Rikki Jai and Crazy. 

Missing from the list was former winner KI Persad. Goerge Singh, CEO of Southex Promotions, said Persad did not register for the show this year.

Related Article

The semifinalists will be vying to take the crowns away from 2017 joint winners Omardath Maharaj and Ravi B. 

At the launch, Singh said Ravi had not yet made a decision to defend his crown and urged him to do so. 

In his address, Singh spoke about plans to monetise the CSM  in 2019 through digital media initiatives. He said the online audience for the event is now much larger than those actually attending the finals with over 70,000 people logged online to take in the show. 

The semifinals will take place on Saturday, January 13 at LIV Nightlife, Gulf View, La Romaine. 

The Semifinalists are as follows:

1.Kavita Ramkissoon

2. Devanand Gattoo

3.Rizaan Ali

4.Kenneth Supersad

5.Nisha Ramsook

6.Rome -  Jerome Precilla

7.Shiva Lakhan

8.Nirmal Samaroo

9.Nishard Mayroo/Neval Chatelal

10.Shivan Ragoonath/Slammer Cutter

11.Wackerman  -  Kerron Tyron Williams

12. Neil Bhajman

13. Surendra Ramoutar

14. Veekash Sahadeo/Ravi Babooram

15. Kenneth Salick

16. Rick Ramoutar

17. Saleem Beharry

18. Nermal Gosein

19. Vishan Mohammed

20. Imran Beharry

21. Kavita Maharaj

22. Avinash Sookraj

23. Crazy - Edwin Ayoung

24. Kumar Sienarine

25. Jesh Ramnanan

26. Ramnarine Prabhoo

27. Nigel Gobin

28. Vee ram  Vishnu Ramkaran

29. Anil Rock

30. Alex B

31. Veejai Ramkissoon

32. Mario Jitman

33. Mr Rave Lochan Ragoobir

34. Rikki Jai



Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: