Sunday 29 November, 2020

New UWI guild to be installed in June after recent elections

Incoming UWI Guild President.

Incoming UWI Guild President.

A new student guild will be instated at the University of the West Indies (UWI) St Augustine Campus in June after elections took place on March 5.

A total of 18 new Guild Councillors were voted for at the polls which were conducted using paper ballot tabulators donated by the Dominion Voting Sytems (DVS) of Canada, a manufacturer of voting machines. The initiative was a collaborative effort between DVS and the DELIAN Project, the philanthropic arm of the former.  

The Guild Council comprises an executive, hall chairpersons, faculty representatives and special committee chairpersons such as national and international affairs, student activities, post-graduate, part-time and evening committees.

The victors are as follows: 

  1. President: Warren Anderson
  2. Vice President: Kareem Charles
  3. Secretary: Afiya James
  4. Treasurer: Nikolai Chin Hong
  5. Post Graduate President: Matthew Sealy
  6. Part-Time & Evening Representative: Nazim Mohammed
  7. Publications Committee Chairperson: Kendell Vincent
  8. Student Activity Committee Chairperson: Brandon James
  9. National Affairs Committee Chairperson: Kobe Sandy
  10. International Affairs Committee Chairperson: Jensen Samaroo
  11. Games Committee Chairperson: Jeremy Carrera
  12. Faculty Of Food & Agriculture: Precious Hinds
  13. Faculty Of Social Sciences: Kira Alexander
  14. Faculty Of Science & Technology: Michael Joseph
  15. Faculty Of Humanities & Education: Michaela Regis
  16. Faculty Of Law: Khaleem Ali
  17. Faculty Of Engineering: Johnathon Gardiner
  18. Faculty Of Medical Sciences: Adil Mohammed 

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: