Sunday 29 November, 2020

No GATE funding for non-accredited schools

The new school year is about to begin and with CAPE and CSEC results soon to be released, secondary school graduates will be faced with choosing a tertiary institution to further their studies.

Some may be factoring in changes in the Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses (GATE) Programme when making their decision.

One of the major changes to be implemented from this academic year is the end of funding to students attending non-accredited institutions.

While this does not affect current students, new students entering these institutions from 2017 onward will not be eligible for GATE funding.

According to the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT), only 13 institutions are currently accredited and new students entering these institutions will continue to receive some level of funding.

The accredited institutions are:

-Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business

-Caribbean Nazarene College

-Cipriani College of Labour and Co-operative Studies

-College of Science, Technology and Applied Arts of Trinidad and Tobago (COSTAATT)

-MIC Institute of Technology

-St Andrew's Theological Institute

-Tobago Hospitality and Tourism Institute

-Trinidad and Tobago Hospitality and Tourism Institute

-University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT)

-University of the West Indies (UWI) - This includes the UWI open campus and UWI campuses in Barbados and Jamaica which are recognised by the ACTT.

-University of the Southern Caribbean (USC)

-West Indies School of Theology

-UWI School of Business and Applied Studies (ROYTEC)

St George's University in Grenada is also recognised by the ACTT.

However, institutions not on this list will no longer be GATE-funded and new students must pay 100 percent of their tuition fees.

This includes several well-known institutions like the School of Business and Computer Science (SBCS), the School of Accounting and Management (SAM), the School of International Travel and Languages (SITAL).

A total of 56 institutions are registered with the ACTT but not accredited.

The ACTT says there are currently some 67,500 students enrolled in tertiary institutions across the country.

About 56,316 of these students are enrolled in accredited institutions.

The level of funding to be made available to students entering accredited institutions is to be determined by a means test which has also been implemented for the new academic year.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: