Sunday 31 May, 2020

Party stand for ICC Women's World T20 2018

The International Cricket Council and Cricket West Indies have announced their partnership with MYST Carnival as the official party stand operator for the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 in the West Indies.

MYST Carnival has been a key player in Antigua and Barbuda’s carnival scene for several years and is seen as the ideal fit to host “De Party Stand” for the semi-finals and final. These matches will be played on November 22 and 24 at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground.

The concept of party and cricket originated in Antigua in the 1980s and it will form a key part of the spectator experience for the upcoming event, with all-day entertainment by artistes, a designated deejay, cultural displays, food and drinks. Ticket prices have been set at US$40 (EC$100) for the semi-finals and US$60 (EC$150) for the finals.

Taslim Gordon, Director of MYST Carnival said:MYST Carnival has been involved in cricket for more than a decade. We remain committed to increasing the love and passion for the game and cricket attendance. Cricket, like carnival, fosters Caribbean unity and integration and for that, we are happy to be partnering with the CWI on the upcoming WT20 to maximize the nexus between carnival and cricket.”

 “We welcome MYST Carnival to the tournament as our official host of ‘De Party Stand”. They are the right fit. They know what the cricket fans love and the atmosphere we require in the party stand, and they can deliver. They have an amazing team and we know they will provide the right vibes for our local spectators and visitors,”  

Said Nelecia Yeates, Head of Commercial for the ICC Women’s World T20.

This is the sixth edition of the ICC Women’s World T20 tournament and the second time it is being held in the West Indies. This is the first stand-alone Women’s World T20 after the previous five editions were held along with the ICC Men’s World T20.

Windies are the defending champions, having won the last edition in India in April 2016. Australia have won the tournament three times while England and the Windies have won it once each

The hosts Windies are placed in Group A along with England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, while Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and Ireland are in Group B.

The tournament will run from November 9 to 24 and matches will be played at National Stadium in Guyana; the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in St Lucia and the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua.


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: