• Trinidad & Tobago
  • Trinidad & Tobago

    Election 2020 Results

Thursday 13 August, 2020

Petrotrin report undergoes review by Cabinet’s Energy Sub-Committee

The Energy Sub-Committee of the Cabinet met to review the recently completed report on the operations of State-owned Petrotrin on Wednesday.

The Sub-Committee is chaired by Prime Minister Keith Rowley.

The recommendations coming out of today’s meeting will be forwarded to Cabinet for its decision on the way forward for the energy company.

The Petrotrin Review Committee was appointed by the Prime Minister in March. 

The appointment of this committee followed a Cabinet decision that called for a review of operations at Petrotrin in light of the company’s falling revenues, allegations of mismanagement and decreasing oil prices worldwide.

The committee is chaired by Selwyn Lashley, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Energy & Energy Industries and its members include energy industry experts, representatives from the trade union and academia.

The committee submitted its findings in a comprehensive report on June 6 which included recommendations for the restructuring of the State-owned company. 

The Petrotrin Review Committee agreed to remain empanelled on assignment with Cabinet until December 31.

The members of the Petrotrin Review Committee are as follows:

Professor Chandrabhan Sharma, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, University of the West Indies; Helen Drayton, former Independent Senator; Robert Riley, Head of Safety and Operational Risk, Competency and Capability Development at the BP Group in London and former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of BPTT; Wilfred Espinet, AeroMarine Trinidad Limited; Gregory Marchan, Representative of the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU) and David Abdullah, Representative of the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU).

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: