Saturday 7 December, 2019

PM appoints committee to investigate Petrotrin operations

The appointments took place at the Diplomatic Centre, St. Anns following a Cabinet decision which was taken on February 23rd, 2017, to review operations at the company in light of falling revenues, allegations of mismanagement and decreasing oil prices worldwide.

The committee is required to make recommendations for restructuring the company and its first report is scheduled to be submitted on June 1st, 2017.

The committee will be chaired by Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Energy and Energy Affairs Selwyn Lashley.

Other members include Professor Chandrabhan Sharma of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, University of the West Indies; Helen Drayton, former Independent Senator; Wilfred Espinet, AeroMarine Trinidad Limited; Gregory Marchan, Representative of the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU); David Abdullah, Representative of the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU) and Robert Riley, Head of Safety and Operational Risk, Competency and Capability Development at the BP Group in London and former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of BPTT who was notably absent from the occasion.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: