Sunday 27 September, 2020

PNM - 7, UNC - 7; Local Government Elections 2019 end in a tie

According to the preliminary results of the Local Government Elections (LGE), the People’s National Movement (PNM) and the United National Congress (UNC) have gained control of seven corporations each.

While the numbers are still to be confirmed by the Elections and Boundaries Commission, the PNM has declared victory in the Arima and Point Fortin Borough Corporations, the Port of Spain and San Fernando City Corporations, and the Diego Martin, San Juan/Laventille and Tunapuna/Piarco Municipal Corporations.

They lost the Sangre Grande Municipal Corporation previously won in the 2016 LGE.

The PNM also lost three electoral districts in the San Fernando City Corporation.

One of the districts in the San Fernando City Corporation - Cocoyea/Tarouba will likely face a recount after only one vote separated the PNM's candidate from her opponent. The tally was PNM 1043 to UNC 1042.

Apart from the Sangre Grande Municipal Corporation, the UNC claimed the majority of districts in the Chaguanas, Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo, Mayaro/Rio Claro, Penal/Debe, Princes Town and Siparia Municipal Corporations.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: