Thursday 23 January, 2020

President appoints six new Senators

President Paula-Mae Weekes has appointed six new senators.

A release from the Office of the President said that after seven months in office and having deliberated upon the most desirable composition of the bench both at this particular point in time and in the foreseeable future, the President has appointed six new senators, while retaining the services of three Senators: Sophia Chote, Paul Richards and Dr. Varma Deyalsingh.

The six new Senators are:

Hazel Thompson-Ahye: an Attorney-at-Law and holder of a Master of Laws degree with specialisation in Family Law. She was formerly a teacher having obtained her Teacher’s Diploma in 1970. She is also qualified in Restorative Practices. She has had consultancies with Caribbean Association for Feminist Research and Action (CAFRA) as well as with several regional offices of UNICEF including Dominica, Guyana and the OECS on the Convention on the Rights of the Child and Juvenile Justice. She has presented papers internationally, regionally and locally on Gender and Child issues.

Amrita Deonarine: an Economist with a focus on Trade and Development. She holds an MSc in Economics with Distinction from the University of the West Indies. A 2006 National Scholarship winner, Deonarine has been a research consultant with the IDB since June 2015 where she co-authored the IDB Group Country Strategy 2016-2020 to assist the Government of Trinidad and Tobago in eradicating constraints that hinder economic diversification and leading the country to the road of prosperity and sustainable development.

Anthony Vieira: an Attorney-at-Law and Alternative Dispute Resolution Practitioner. He was a former member of the Independent Bench 2013-2015 when he served as the Chairman of a Joint Select Committee on Municipal Corporations and Service Commissions. Vieira has extensive experience in the review on the drafting of legislation including the Copyright Bill 1996 and the Telecommunications Bill 2000. He is the Chairman of AmCham Governance Committee treating with transparency, accountability and good governance.

Charrise Seepersad: a Management Consultant with a Masters of Business Administration. From 2007, she has been the Business Manager at JD Sellier & Company where she participates in strategic planning for the firm and manages its day to day operations including Property and Facilities Management, OSH Compliance, Insurance and other services. Ms. Seepersad was previously a private practitioner providing management consultant services to clients including businesses in the Integrated Resort Development, Financial, Sports and Entertainment sectors.

Deoroop Teemal: a Civil and Structural Engineer and Project Manager with 37 years’ experience. His expertise is in Project Management, Contract Administration, Construction Implementation and Water and Wastewater Engineering. Teemal’s clients have included the Ministry of Works, NIPDEC, WASA and Gaspar Grande Water Supply. He is the Principal of Team Engineering Systems Limited and is the Chairman of Divali Nagar and Vice President of the National Council of Indian Culture (NCIC).

Dr. Maria Dillon-Remy: a medical doctor specialising in paediatrics born, bred and practising in Tobago. She also holds a Masters in Organisational Leadership. She is a Past President of the Trinidad and Tobago Medical Association and a Member of the Board of Directors of the NGO, Family Life Tobago.  Dr. Dillon-Remy worked from 1988 – 2012 in the Public Health Sector including the Scarborough, Sangre Grande, San Fernando and POS General Hospitals.

The new senators are expected to be sworn in on Tuesday, November 20.


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free:

Download the Loop News Caribbean app on Google Play Store:

Download the Loop News Caribbean app on the App Store:

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: