Sunday 18 August, 2019

Sangakarra seals Tallawah's victory after Knight Riders implode

Sangakarra's polished 47 ensured the Knight Riders would lose their first match of the 2017 CPL

Sangakarra's polished 47 ensured the Knight Riders would lose their first match of the 2017 CPL

Kumar Sangakarra played a superb knock as the Jamaica Tallawahs notched their second win of the 2017 Hero CPL, with a four-wicket win over the Trinbago Knight Riders on Wednesday night at the Queen’s Park Oval.

The Knight Riders wasted a terrific start of 109/2 in the 10th over to be bowled out for 147 with a ball to spare.

Colin Munro hit 41 and Darren Bravo 33 but the innings imploded after the New Zealander’s dismissal.

Lendl Simmons dashing 38 and Sangakarra’s composed 47 ensured the Knight Riders would taste defeat for the first time for the 2017 season.

Sangakarra won the toss and inserted the TKR, a decision that seemed to backfire when the home team raced out to 100 off only eight overs.

Krishmar Santokie conceded three fours and a six in the first over of the match as the Knight Riders were 20 without loss after six balls.

Kesrick Williams would make early inroads, removing Brendon McCullum for 16 in the third over and then Sunil Narine (23) with the first ball of his fifth over.

However, Darren Bravo and Colin Munro continued to plunder the Tallawahs attack bringing up the hundred off the last ball of the eight over.

Munro’s dismissal for 41, caught on the long on boundary off Santokie, proved to be the turning point of the innings.

At the heart of the fightback was debutant Odean Smith, who bowled a tight 11th over before claiming the wicket of Denesh Ramdin (5) in the 13th over.  

Mohammed Sami removed Bravo (33) and then Imad Wasim took out Shadab Khan (6) in consecutive overs and the TKR were in trouble at 131/6.

A flurry of wickets followed. Santokie had Dwayne Bravo (5) caught behind before Williams claimed his third wicket in dismissing Javon Searles (2).

Smith’s fine debut with the ball ended with two wickets in his last over as the Knight Riders fell for 147 with a ball unused.  

The Jamaica Tallawahs raced off to an equally impressive start with a 53-run partnership between Kumar Sangakarra and Lendl Simmons in only five overs.

Simmons (38) struck two boundaries off Shadab Khan but was deceived by the flight of the third ball and was bowled.

Narine had Andre McCarthy (3) LBW in the 7th over but the Tallawahs got to the halfway point of the innings needing 56 runs off 60 balls.

The off-spinner dismissed the dangerous Rovman Powell for 18 to usher in the experienced Shakib Al Hasan.

The Bangladeshi all-rounder and Sangakarra did not hit a boundary for 27 balls as they edged towards victory.

The Knight Riders struck back when Bravo induced a mistimed drive from Sangakarra to have him caught at long off for 47.

Seven balls later Al Hasan perished, caught and bowled for 16 off Kevon Cooper, leaving a run-a-ball chase for Jonathan Foo and Imad Wasim.

Foo took 13 runs off the 19th over bowled by Bravo, which included Shadab Khan’s expensive dropped catch, which went for six.

He was caught off the first ball of the last over but Imad’s inside edge would seal victory for the Tallawahs a ball later.

Summarized scores: Trinbago Knight Riders 147 (Munro 41, DM Bravo 33; Smith 3/20, Williams 3/26) vs Jamaica Tallawahs 148/6 (Sangakarra 47, Simmons 38; Narine 2/21, Cooper 2/25). Tallawahs win by four wickets with four balls to spare.

Trinbago Knight Riders: B McCullum, S Narine, C Munro, DM Bravo, D Ramdin, DJ Bravo, S Khan, R Frylinck, J Scantlebury-Searles, K Cooper, K Pierre

Jamaica Tallawahs: K Sangakarra, L Simmons, A McCarthy, S Al Hasan, R Powell, I Wasim, O Smith, K Santokie, M Sami, K Williams, J Foo


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: