Wednesday 21 October, 2020

Scratch bombs officially banned as Young signs Explosives Order

Minister of National Security Stuart Young on Friday signed the Explosives (Prohibition of Scratch Bombs) Order 2018, in keeping with Cabinet’s announcement on November 22 to officially ban scratch bombs into Trinidad and Tobago.

The Order was made by the Minister in keeping with Section 37 of the Explosives Act, Chapter 16:02.

It prohibits persons from manufacturing, importing, keeping, conveying or selling a scratch bomb.

Persons found breaching the Order may be liable upon indictment, to a fine of $20,000.00 or ten years imprisonment or forfeiture of the items.

The Order was published in the Gazette as Legal Notice No. 197 dated December 28, and takes immediate effect.

Minister Young encourages all citizens to take heed of this Order and continue to respect the laws of Trinidad and Tobago.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: