Tuesday 29 September, 2020

Shai Hope named in ICC ODI Team of the Year

West Indies wicket-keeper/batsman Shai Hope has been named in the International Cricket Council (ICC) One-Day International (ODI) Team of the Year.

The apex cricket body on Wednesday announced its awards for the year 2019 with Hope the only West Indies player in the team.

Four Indians have made it into the team – the most from any nation.

India's Rohit Sharma, who won the ICC ODI Cricketer of the year, is the first opener in ICC’s ODI team.  Hope, who had an impressive 2019, has been picked as Rohit’s partner.

Hope said, "it was a very good year for me, with the bat and with the gloves and I’m proud to be named in the ICC ODI Team of the year. To score over 1,000 runs was a breakthrough but I was also pleased with my work behind the stumps. This is more encouragement to keep getting better and growing in all aspects of my game as we strive to move West Indies cricket back to the top of the world stage."

ICC’s ODI Team of the Year: Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: