Saturday 19 September, 2020

UNC to demand recounts in 3 marginals: 'Don't give up,' says Kamla

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar has urged United National Congress (UNC) supporters not to give up, confirming via a statement that the UNC will demand a recount of three marginal seats in the 2020 General Election.

Persad-Bissessar said the 'battle was close' and urged supporters not to despair. 

She said: 'I know this morning you’re all feeling disillusioned and dejected but please know that all is not lost. The election results has given us one more seat, and shown tremendous overall gains throughout the country.

'And most importantly, the battle was so close that we are not officially conceding until we get the results of the recounts we’ve demanded in three key marginal constituencies.'

She said she would relay more information at a later date and thanked supporters for their work especially during the pandemic.

'I want to express my deepest, most heartfelt gratitude to all citizens of T&T for ensuring that in these unprecedented polls, called during a pandemic, you were disciplined and harmonious in your conduct.

'I stand proud on the fact that our great UNC party fought a clean, effective campaign. For this, I wish to thank all members of my committed team — from our dynamic candidates, our devoted, hardworking foot soldiers, our former MPs, our councilors and every other person who assisted in any possible way,' Persad-Bissessar said. 

She also commended Moruga/Tableland's winning candidate Michelle Benjamin who won the seat from the PNM.

'Young Michelle Benjamin must especially be congratulated for her amazing victory, which brought the prized Moruga/Tableland marginal back into our precious fold by a tremendous margin, putting a sound whipping on a political veteran,' she said.

Although the Election and Boundaries Commission (EBC) was still finalising votes up to Tuesday morning, the PNM declared victory with 22 seats against the UNC's 19 on Monday night.

In 2015, the PNM secured 23 seats to the UNC's 17, with the Congress of the People (COP) winning the St Augustine seat.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: