Wednesday 11 December, 2019

Uncontested: Rowley nominates candidates for PNM internal election

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has announced his slate for the People’s National Movement internal election set to take place on September 16.

With the theme, “Real---Experienced---Dependable (RED) TEAM 19-22”, Dr Rowley has submitted the names of veteran candidates for all 16 posts.

Keeping himself as political leader, the list is as follows:

1 Political Leader Dr Keith Rowley
Tobago, Diego Martin

2 Chairman Mr Colm Imbert 
Diego Martin

3 Vice Chairman Mr Robert Le Hunt
Fyzabad, Tabaquite

4 Lady Vice Chairman Mrs Camille Robinson- Regis Arouca, Maloney

5 General Secretary Mr Foster Cummings

6 Asst General Secretary Mr Daniel Dookie
Point a Pierre

7 Treasurer Mr Howard Chin Lee
Port of Spain

8 Education Officer Mr Overand Padmore
Port of Spain

9 Public Relations Officer Mr Fitzgerald Hinds

10 Social Media Officer Mr Avinash Singh

11 Labour Relations Officer Mrs Jennifer Baptiste-Primus

12 Elections Officer Mr Indar Parasram

13 Field Officer Mr Abdon Mason
Point Fortin

14 Welfare Officer Mrs Joycelyn Bodden
Port of Spain

15 Youth Officer Mr Ndale Young

16 Operations Officer Ms Irene Hinds
Diego Martin Central

The nomination period was from August 13 to 17.

Dr Rowley is uncontested.

In 2010, the Diego Martin West MP threw his hat in the ring for leadership of the party after Patrick Manning stepped down following a crushing 29 to 12 defeat by the People's Partnership Government (UNC, COP, MSJ, NJAC and TOP) led by Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

He was up against Penelope Beckles who was said to be a favourite among party elites. 


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free:

Download the Loop News Caribbean app on Google Play Store:

Download the Loop News Caribbean app on the App Store:

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: