• Trinidad & Tobago
  • Trinidad & Tobago

    Election 2020 Results

Sunday 9 August, 2020

'Women taking over', says Martinez, as Councillors sworn in

For the first time in the history of the Port of Spain City Corporation, there are more female councillors than male councillors. 

Port of Spain Mayor Joel Martinez said the development is a positive one as it was unprecedented.

He was speaking at City Hall on Monday following the swearing-in of 12 Councillors to the Port of Spain City Corporation.

"What makes (this swearing-in) special is that there are eight female and four male (councillors). I don't think we've ever had so many women elected to the Council and that says something. Men, you need to work harder, women are taking over," he joked.

Martinez urged the Councillors to continue to work to represent the people.

"As a public servant you have the ability to positively affect thousands of lives for many years, even generations to come. In my experience that positive influence brings a level of satisfaction which is surreal.

"No longer does your life solely revolve around you or your family, no longer is your work about personal gain. It is definitely noot for political mileage. You have been called to a life of service, you have become a Councillor, your duty is to the people and their well-being is your main priority," he said. 

(Photo clockwise, L-R: Councillors for Southern Port of Spain, Dennis Bristol, Belmont East Nicole Young, St James East Jameel Bisnath, East Dry River Clint Baptiste, St Ann's River Central Esther Sylvester, St Ann's River North Hillan Morean, Belmont South Aba Kamau, St Ann's River South Jenneil Frederick, St James West Camille Mc Dougall, Mayor Joel Martinez, Northern Port of Spain Abena Hartley, Woodbrook June Durham, Belmont/North West Malouia Bourne.)

The new Councillors for Port of Spain are as follows: 

Councillor for Southern Port of Spain - Dennis Bristol

Councillor for Belmont East - Nicole Young

Councillor for St James East - Jameel Bisnath

Councillor for East Dry River - Clint Baptiste

Councillor for St Ann's River Central - Esther Sylvester

Councillor for St Ann's River North - Hillan Morean

Councillor for Belmont/North West - Malouia Bourne

Councillor for Woodbrook - June Durham

Councillor for Northern Port of Spain - Abena Hartley

Councillor for St James West - Camille Mc Dougall

Councillor for St Ann's River South - Jenneil Frederick

Councillor for Belmont South - Aba Kamau

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: