• Trinidad & Tobago
  • Trinidad & Tobago

    Election 2020

August 10,2020
  • DAYS
  • HRS
  • MINS
  • SECS
Friday 7 August, 2020

New ICATT President appointed

Pictured: Denise Chinpire-O’Reilly.

Pictured: Denise Chinpire-O’Reilly.

Denise Chinpire-O’Reilly has been appointed as the new President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Trinidad and Tobago (ICATT).

At the first meeting of the 2020/2021 Council of ICATT, Chinpire-O’Reilly was elected unopposed to replace Stacy-Ann Golding, who served three terms as president. Dwayne Rodriguez-Seijas was also unanimously appointed to the position of Vice-President.

The Council met following ICATT’s virtual Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on July 14. The Council’s regularly scheduled March AGM had been postponed due to gathering restrictions imposed during the COVID-19 lockdown.

Prior to her appointment as president, Chinpire-O’Reilly served for two terms as Vice-President of ICATT, as well as Chair of the former Quality Assurance Committee and subsequently as the ex-officio member of the Licensing Committee.

She sits on the Professional Accounting Organisation Development Group Committee of the International Federation of Accountants (IFAC) and is the current Director for Trinidad and Tobago on the Board of Directors of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of the Caribbean (ICAC).

A chartered accountant and Managing Director of KS Chinpire Contracting Services Limited – a third-generation family business which has been operating for over 50 years mainly in the gas and energy sector – Chinpire O’Reilly has also performed executive roles on the Board of the Couva/Point Lisas Chamber of Commerce.

Appointed as Vice-President, Dwayne Rodriguez-Seijas is an Assurance Partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers Trinidad and Tobago (PwC) and has been with the firm for approximately 20 years. He is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) and a member in practice of ICATT.

Dwayne has served on the ICATT Council for the last five years and currently serves as Chairman of the Auditing and Accounting Standards Committee. Dwayne is also the joint Chairman of the Technical Committee of ICAC and is a former member of the Caribbean Corporate Governance Institute (CCGI).

Speaking after the AGM, the new ICATT President thanked members Anthony Pierre and Derek Mohammed who both retired after serving three terms.

Chinpire-O’Reilly said: “The loss of institutional knowledge that occurs with the departure of these veterans of industry and of ICATT will be significant for the Institute. Both have previously held the position of President and chaired several committees. They have both represented ICATT at the regional level of the ICAC.”

She added: “At the AGM two new members of Council were elected: Arun Seenath and Keith Andre Mills and this will present an opportunity to continue the fine tradition of members serving members in the interest of the profession.”

Arun Seenath is a partner at Deloitte & Touche who leads the Taxation and Business Process Services unit of the firm. Keith Andre Mills is a professional accountant with over 20 years’ experience and presently works in the position of AVP Shared Services, Integrated Retail Business Unit - Massy Group

At the first meeting of the ICATT Council the 12-member team was confirmed: Denise Chinpire O’Reilly, President; Dwayne Rodriguez-Seijas, Vice-President; Stacy-Ann Golding (S.N. Golding Financial Services Limited), Immediate Past President; Adrienne D’Arcy (EY); Keith Andre Mills (Massy Group); Arun Seenath (Deloitte); Diane Mano (Attorney-at-Law); Dinesh Bhola (DSB Financial Solutions Ltd.); Kerry Mohammed (W. Mohammed & Co Audit & Assurance Ltd.); Nicole Joseph (PwC); Vijay Parabdeen (FCB); and Krishna Boodhai (Hanover Construction).

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: