Friday 30 October, 2020

New Music: 5 Miles to Midnight is back, Kerwin unveils new project

New releases are dropping hard and fast, from soca to rock. Here is the round up of the latest music releases.

Kembler Riddim by Kerwin Dubois

Type: Soca Riddim

Through his passion project SPUT (Sing, Produce, Unleash Talent), Canada-based singer/songwriter Kerwin Dubois auditioned and assembled 25 unknown singers, songwriters and producers from Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Canada, United Kingdom, Virgin Islands, St Marteen, Guadeloupe, New York, Connecticut and Atlanta. Their first project “Kembler” features 10 voices and 17 writers, including Du Bois. Produced by Synthdicate Music, the songs are:

One In A Million - Daunte & Jenelle

Mind Yuh Business - Eko & DJ Dareon

Ginga - Star Martin & BDoubleots

New Vibes - Mia & Kiko Dan

Love Buttons - BDoubleots

We Ha Ting - Kerwin Du Bois


Candy Shack Riddim by Stadic and  Jonny Blaze

Type:  Soca Riddim

The Candy Shack Riddim is a Soca riddim with a sultry yet party oriented feel. The project features two collabs and two singles and is sure to get the party started. The riddim features four songs by Kerwin Du Bois and Destra, Konshens, Patrice Roberts and Kemar Highcon and Azaryah.


Tragedies by 5 Miles to Midnight

Type: Single

It's been some time since the world has heard something new from 5 Miles to Midnight. This pandemic has presented them with the opportunity to reconnect with friends and acquaintances and, gave them the time needed to get back into the studio.  In the song, they assure us that: “We are great! We are good! We continue to make music we love and share in hopes that you will love it too.”


Auba by Ultimate Rejects

Type: Single

MX prime is a huge football fan and in this single, he sings an ode to Arsenal footballer Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang aka Auba. The Gabon national recently signed a three-year contract to stay with his team Arsenal




Hush by Denise Belfon

Producer Jason "Shaft" Bishop has been preparing for the Carnival season whether or not there was going to be a festival. He has a lot of new music coming down the pipe and Hush with Denise Belfon is his first. The song is expected to drop on October 9.


Feel Good Playlist Vol. 1 by Kalpee

Type: EP

Feel Good Playlist Vol. 1’ contains five tracks featuring Grammy Award-winning producers and writers and tracks such as ‘Gimme De Ting’ featuring platinum-selling artiste Stefflon Don; ‘Put A Record On’ paying homage to Bob Marley’s hit single ‘Three Little Birds’; ‘Climb’ featuring the talented Freetown Collective; and fan favourites ‘Water Flowing’ and ‘Runaway’.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: