Saturday 19 September, 2020

No swearing-in of Government today

File: President Paula Mae Weekes.

File: President Paula Mae Weekes.

There will be no swearing-in of a new government today.  

The delay is due to the recounts ongoing in four constituencies: La Horquetta/Talparo, St Joseph, Toco/Sangre Grande and Tunapuna.

The Office of the President on Thursday via email confirmed that the swearing-in would not take place on Friday.

The President’s communication advisor indicated that a subsequent email would be sent in due course advising of the new date for the swearing-in.

Recounts began on Tuesday afternoon, initially for six constituencies.

Tobago East candidate Watson Duke requested a recount but eventually conceded.

The recount for the San Fernando West constituency was completed late on Thursday, with no change in the declared winner.

Recounts for the remaining four seats continue today.

Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) CEO Fern Narcis-Scope previously indicated that the process could take days.

The swearing-in of a new government cannot take place until all recounts are completed and the EBC sends the official results to the President’s office.  

The current administration remains in office until a new one is appointed and sworn in.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: