Friday 27 November, 2020

Tobago Forwards, PDP announce ‘Unity Platform’ coalition

The Tobago Forwards (TF) and Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) have formed a coalition ahead of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) election carded for January 2021.

Both parties have put their individual internal election machinery on hold to focus on forming the coalition.

The parties’ central focus at this stage is to unite Tobago against the People’s National Movement (PNM).

The Forwards said the Unity Platform recognises its core and common principles of:

1. self-determination for the people of Tobago and the sustainable development of the island while maintaining the island's identity, promoting national unity and Caribbean socio-economic integration;

2. participation at all levels of decision making, with extraordinary inclusion of the youth voice, as the foundation for participatory democracy and people empowerment;

3. nurturing a society that values advancement on the basis of merit, ability, competence and integrity;

4. ensuring the availability of, and access to a system of education, skills and advanced training, which address the qualitative, productive and developmental needs of the island;

5. working towards the protection and conservation of Tobago's natural environment while managing our sustainable development and utilization of our land, forest, marine, fresh water, hydrocarbon and other natural resources;

6. ensuring and legislating the promotion of good governance by making information on the activities and decisions of government available to the population in real time.

The Forwards advised its membership that the partnership is in the best interest of Tobago’s development.

Further, the party said uniting under one banner against the PNM will strengthen efforts of “harnessing our pluripotential energies into a single dynamic voice”.

“Our collective voice is Tobago's victory,” the Tobago Forwards said.

The PDP confirmed candidates to contest the 2021 election:

Parlatuvier/L’anse Fourmi/Speyside - Farley Augustine (Deputy Political Leader)

Goodwood/Belle Garden West - Dr Faith B Yisrael 

Buccoo/Mt Pleasant - Jamie Baird 

Bethel/Mt Irvine – Pastor Terance Baynes (Tobago Forwards Leader)

Lambeau/ Signal Hill – Wayne “Wasp” Clarke 

Belle Garden East/ Roxborough/ Delaford – Watson Duke (PDP Political Leader)

Plymouth/ Golden Lane – Zorisha Hackette

Scarborough/ Calder Hall – Trevor James 

Bacolet/ Mt St George – Megan Morrison 

Providence/ Mason Hall/Moriah – Ian “Whitey” Pollard 

Canaan/Bon Accord – Joel “Nuttsy” Sampson 

Black Rock/Whim/Spring Garden –Abby Taylor

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: